Monday, February 12, 2024

2024 Kansas Chapter of AFS Award Winners


The Awards Committee of the Kansas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society would like to recognize several award winners during presentations held on February 8th and 9th 2024 in Manhattan, Kansas (as part of the Kansas Natural Resources Conference).

Brett Miller (District Fisheries Biologist - KDWP) certificate of appreciation for serving as Past president

There were many great presentations at the 2024 Kansas Natural Resources Conference. In total, we judged 16 oral presentations and 11 posters. Thank you to those that volunteered to judge presentations.

These meetings would not be as valuable without your willingness to share your research and management findings. We thank those presenters and encourage others to share their project outcomes at next years’ meeting. The winners of the 2024 awards are as follows:


Best Professional Presentation

Jeff Koch (Fisheries Research Supervisor - KDWP) : Comparative recruitment of Walleye and Saugeye in three Kansas reservoirs


Best Student Presentation

Kade Jackson (Graduate Student - Kansas State University): Habitat use and overlap of Blue Catfish and Channel Catfish populations in two Kansas reservoirs.


Best Professional Poster

Michael Parr (Aquatic Invasive Species Biologist - KDWP) : The Kansas River user survey: results and recommendations


Best Student Poster

Ethan Thompson (Fisheries Seasonal - KDWP  / Undergraduate Student Washburn University): Comparison of Blue Catfish populations at two northeast Kansas reservoirs



-Bryan Sowards

Award Committee Chairman