Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Annual Business Meeting and 2014 Awards

The chapter held its annual business meeting at the Kansas Natural Resources Conference in Wichita Kansas on Thursday, January 29, 2015.

Dr. Keith Gido was presented a certificate of appreciation for his contribution
to the Chapter as President.

Each year,the Chapter offers the Otto Tiemeier-Frank Cross Student Scholarship to a deserving graduate student and the Klaassen Award to a deserving undergraduate student. Each includes a $300 scholarship, and the Chapter will pay expenses for the recipients to attend our annual meeting.

The 2014 Otto Tiemeier - Frank Cross Award was presented to Skyler C. Hedden.

The 2014 Klaassen Award was presented to Robert Edward Weber III.

Additional awards were given to students and professionals who presented at the previous KNRC in January, 2014.

Best Professional Paper:  Dr. David R. Edds.  Zebra Mussels in the Neosho River Basin.

Best Student Paper:  Scott Brack.  Assessing Wiper (Morone saxatilis X M. chrysops) Diet in the Presence of White Perch (Morone americana) in El Dorado and Cheney Reservoirs.

Best Professional Poster:  Jeff Koch.  Effects of Supplemental Feeding and Management
on Channel Catfish in a Kansas Impoundment.

Best Student Poster:  Michael Denk.  Temperature-Dependent Feeding Rate of Four Congeneric Minnows: Implications for Mechanistic Environmental Niche Models.