Wednesday, February 5, 2020

KNRC Award Winners

At the Kansas Natural Resource Conference last week numerous members of the Kansas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society were honored with a variety of awards.
Otto Tiemeier-Frank Cross Student Scholarship
James Miazga (top) – Emporia State University

Klaassen Award
Joshua Holloway (bottom) – Pittsburg State University

Catfish 2020 Student Travel Grant
                Katie Schrag – Emporia State University
                Kali Boroughs – Pittsburgh State University

Inaugural Outstanding Fisheries Role Model Award
                Dr. David Edds – Retired, Emporia State University

Special Recognitions
Carson Cox – Awards Committee Chair from 2001 - 2019
                Jessica Mounts – Communications Chair from 2011 - 2019
                Jordan Hofmeier – Chapter President 2018 - 2019

2020 Poster and Presentation Awards
            Student Presentation: Crosby Hedden, Influence of water velocity on growth of two minnow species in the Gila River Basin
            Student Poster: Kali Boroughs, Have Neosho Madtom densities responded to improved water quality in the Spring River
Professional Presentation: James Whitney, Status of the Blackside Darter in Kansas
            Professional Poster: Ernesto Flores, Evaluation of a non-traditional pectoral spine sectioning method for Blue Catfish

Congratulations to all our award winners, it is no easy task for the awards committee to choose from so many exceptional candidates.

The lights were somewhat dimmed in the room so we opted to take photos afterwards, but Josh and Jim were the only two to stick around. I guess they’re more photogenic!