Thursday, February 16, 2023

2023 KANSAS AFS CHAPTER AWARD WINNERS / Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference


The Awards Subcommittee of the Kansas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society would like to recognize several award winners during presentations held on February 14th in Overland Park, Kansas (as part of the Midwest Fish & Wildlife Conference).

Dr. James Whitney (Associate Professor of Biology - Pittsburg State University)Past president

There were a few great presentations at the 2023 Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference, and likely would have been more if the Awards Subcommittee did a better job indicating that those were the presentations that would be judged. The Kansas Natural Resources Conference had several presentations as well but those weren’t included in the Kansas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society’s award process in 2023.

These meetings would not be as valuable without your willingness to share your research and management findings. We thank those presenters and encourage others to share their project outcomes at next years’ meeting. The winners of the 2023 awards are as follows:


Best Professional Presentation

Susan Steffen (Human Dimensions Specialist - KDWP): Effect of Invasive carp on Kansas River recreationists


Best Student Presentation

Ethan Rasset (Graduate Student - Missouri State University): Investigating invasive carp in the Neosho River


Best Professional Poster

Ben Neely (Fisheries Research Biologist - KDWP): Status of Freshwater Drum in Kansas impoundments with emphasis on three populations


Best Student Poster

William (Brendon) Mason (Graduate Student - Fort Hays State University): Evaluating size structure and growth rates of Flathead Catfish in four western Kansas reservoirs



-Bryan Sowards

Award Committee Chairman